
Veterans Treatment Court Requirements
As a participant in VTC, you must agree to comply with the following program requirements:

1. You shall obey all laws of the City, County, State, and Federal Government.  

2. You shall not associate with anyone who is violating a criminal law.

3. You may operate a motor vehicle only if you have a valid driver’s license. 

4. You shall support your dependents and comply with any court order of support. 

5. You must be a resident of Whitley County or a county bordering Whitley County. 

6. You must notify your VTC case manager / Community Corrections office within 48 hours of any changes in employment, residence, and/or telephone number, including any contact with law enforcement.  You must cooperate with any ongoing investigation by law enforcement. 

7. You shall obtain permission from the court before leaving the state of Indiana.  You shall waive extradition to the state of Indiana and voluntarily return to this state and appear before the court when so ordered by the court.

8. You shall work faithfully at a suitable employment, faithfully pursue a course of study or vocational training that will equip you for a suitable employment, or make every effort to obtain employment, if physically / mentally able to do so.

9. No alcohol, drugs, or intoxicating substances are to be consumed or possessed.  No alcohol is to be in the home at any time.  Prescription medication may only be taken in the manner prescribed by a physician.  You shall report any prescription medication to your case manager.  No Delta or CBD related products may be consumed or possessed.  It is advised that food containing poppy seeds and OTC medications or products that have alcohol listed as an ingredient should not be consumed.  Be aware of what you put in your body, as these items cannot be used as a defense in regard to a positive drug screen. 

10. You shall not possess drug paraphernalia or any devices for the ingestion of illegal substance into the human body. 

11. You shall not enter into any establishment where alcoholic beverages or mood altering substances are the primary product for sale. This includes liquor stores, bars, taverns, pubs, night clubs, casinos, and head shops. 

12. Any request for a substance abuse test must be submitted to, and you are responsible for the cost of it.  A failure, refusal, or tampering with the sample is a violation.  Any dilute specimen will be considered a violation.  Drug screen results are admissible in any subsequent hearings.  You will also be responsible for calling into the drug testing hotline or checking in online on a daily basis.  Drug testing fees range from $20-$80 per test, depending on the frequency and type of test administered.

13. While you are on VTC supervision, you, your home, your motor vehicle, or any other place where your personal property may be found may be subjected to search with or without reasonable cause or suspicion.  You shall cooperate with any Community Corrections staff, Probation staff, or law enforcement officer working on behalf of the VTC to facilitate these searches.  By signing these rules, you are agreeing to this term.

14. You shall permit the designated VTC team member to visit you at your home, school, work, and elsewhere.  You agree to waive your right against search and seizure.  You shall permit a Field Officer or any person acting on his/her behalf, which may include a K-9 dog, to search without reasonable cause or suspicion your home, your motor vehicle, or any place in which your personal property may be found.  If a Field Officer has reasonable suspicion that other parties in the residence are in illegal possession of a substance and/or weapon, that person may be subject to search and seizure as well. No alcohol, drugs, paraphernalia, prohibited knives, or deadly weapons are permitted in your residence.  It is policy to dispose of any contraband found on property or confiscated from a participant.  Under no circumstance will contraband be returned.

15. You shall not use, purchase, receive, or possess a firearm, ammunition, destructive device, prohibited knife, stun gun, or deadly weapon.  

16. You shall report to your case manager when requested, you shall be truthful with him/her at all times, and you shall follow staff directives. 

17. You shall participate in a risk assessment and successfully complete any recommended programming and/or treatment.  This includes attending all individual/group sessions with your treatment provider and self-help meetings if instructed.  

18. You shall be in compliance with fees owed to VTC in an agreement developed with your case manager.  Veterans Treatment Court participants are expected to pay the costs of fees associated with, but not limited to, a $100 Administrative Fee for Veterans Treatment Court, a $25 Transfer Fee for out-of-county referrals, and fees of drug testing ranging from $20-$80 per test.  You will be expected to pay your treatment costs as set up by your treatment provider. 

19. You shall attend court on a weekly, bi-weekly, or monthly basis, as determined by risk level and/or specific phase that you are in.  You are required to attend all court sessions as scheduled and be on time.  This not only includes your Veterans Treatment Court session itself, but also your Peer Support Group session that is held prior to court. Failure to report to these court appointments may result in the court issuing a warrant for your arrest.

20. You shall sign the Whitley County Veterans Treatment Court Participation Agreement. The participation agreement is a legal document that you must sign in order to enter Veterans Treatment Court. Your signature indicates that you understand and agree to all of the terms of the treatment court. You must review this document with your attorney or the public defender assigned to you. If you agree to participate in treatment court, you and your attorney will submit the participation agreement to the court for the prosecutor’s and the judge’s signature. If you are terminated from or withdraw from treatment court, you will be sentenced by the judge.  If you have questions about this process, please contact your attorney.

